Is it possible to model port compression?

3ll3d00d

as subject really, I might be blind but I haven't found good info on this so far. I am aware of rules of thumb like "keep it under x% of speed of sound" but this seems distinct from whether a particular port will compress or not.

if the answer is "yes, if you use akabak" then any example would be appreciated as I've never used it but have been planning to try it out :)

context is I'm planning on building a dual reflex bandpass sub to test out this PVL hypothesis, design details in http://www.avsforum.com/forum/155-diy-speakers-subs/2539913-ported-nf-uxl-18-build.html#post46292769in case anyone is interested

• Like 1

Good question. I use the "rule of thumb" type modelling when I use Unibox.

The severity of compression is worsened with smaller surface area. Ie: smaller port/vent, easier for compression to set in.

I'm no expert at all. Just use good sense when designing.

I would like to see if there is a way to really "model" it though. The smarter guys here will know im sure.

I found this article to be helpful:  http://www.subwoofer-builder.com/flare-testing.htm

Although the article mainly addresses chuffing, I believe chuffing and compression tend to coincide with one another.  I would think that once chuffing is loud enough to hear, compression is already there or is not far behind.  Of course, you may still not hear the chuffing if the content masks it, but the experiments in the article used sine waves to mostly avoid the masking problem.

The article suggests that larger diameter ports with greater flares can tolerate higher flow velocity before chuffing sets in.  Unfortunately, they don't address what happens with slot ports at all.  Presumably, it's not good, but maybe not so bad as to render them useless.