Speaker acceleration, displacement and SPL

radulescu_paul_mircea

So, some time ago I said that the driver excursion is a secondary effect of the acceleration of the diaphragm but it is the acceleration that implies the sound pressure level.

I read this in a blog post of Geoff Martin from Bang and Olufsen when he said that one graph he made isn't real because in it the SPL was following the driver excursion but in fact it should follow the drivers acceleration.

I am not very good with math and for now I only have basic knowledge in this but this is why I would really like to discuss it with you guys

post-3306-0-30044500-1476786256_thumb.jpg

So what is important for me is what is happening when there isn't sufficient displacement capability for achieving the pressure levels some of us are getting in our measurements but we have enough motor force and amplifier power to generate the acceleration.

One problem I had was when I measured a Martin Audio MLX sub with a B&K sound level meter put on 17 ms fast averaging at 4 meters and I got 137 dB peak from a single sub. That would imply the drivers were moving around 74 mm p-p at the test tone of 42 hz which I think isn't possible. So the I thought it might be an explanation in the fact that the amp and the driver motor could make the diaphragm to accelerate enough to create that pressure but not for the entire quarter of the cycle but only at the beginning of the stroke. But that seems to me that the driver is not generating a sine wave anymore that would mean mechanical clipping the signal .IDK...

You can simulate velocity and accelerative forces and how they relate to driver excursion and other behaviors using HR, Akabak or ABEC3.

Fun fact...I've seen a lot of people over the years saying that higher xmax subs sound slower and short xmax pro audio subs sound faster. With enough power a super excursion sub like a XXX will move its cone at a greater speed with higher acceleration.