spectraman42

As a total Newbie who just joined today, I have to say my hat's off to those who have done all this analysis work. This is fantastic! :)

It's great to see someone validating the work that was published decades ago, which showed that even just HEARING (not to mention FEELING) goes down at least 2 octaves below the usual "20Hz cutoff" generally (incorrectly) quoted as the lower limit of our perception. All you have to do is stand near railroad tracks as a train is going by, or feel the rumbling bass power in thunder to figure out that there's a LOT going on down there.

However, although the title of the Bass Content thread mentions games and music, but all I've been able to find so far is movie soundtracks. Don't get me wrong, this is awesome, I love deep bass, which adds tremendously to the excitement of movies! But I am wondering since there is so much content under 20Hz on so many movies, what about games? My searches for "game" or "games" on this thread haven't been successful. :(

My suggestion would be to have 3 separate threads - one for movies, one for games and one for music.

Any help you can give me, pointing me to game or music spectrographs would be much appreciated.

Thanks, 

Spectraman42

Battlefield has some serious bass, I've posted some graphs from Battlefield 4 a while ago, will have to dig them up.

EDIT: Here is the post:

http://data-bass.ipbhost.com/index.php?/topic/12-the-low-frequency-content-thread-films-games-music-etc/page-110#entry3673

Only two graphs but have a couple more.

Wow. I have BF4. Was that the campaign or online?

I think it's called Borderlands 2... a friend of mine SL'd it and it has tons of bass that is unfiltered.  He didn't screen cap any of it though. 

That game is fun as hell especially co-op. Might have to pick that up.

Those were taken at the testing range and the others are not quite as impressive.